I got a Asus Chromebook Flip a few days ago. It’s not the new one, it’s the old one. I got it as a backup laptop. My current laptop, which runs Ubuntu 16.10, has had some battery issues for awhile now.

I’ve replaced the battery twice now. I’m starting to think it’s the connector to the battery. Evidence of this: the OS fails to recognize the battery. Or it does for a second, then it disappears. The orange indicator light on my laptop, meant for charging, blinks constantly.

I’ve taken the second replacement battery out, plugged it in via the A/C connector, and powered it on and off. I’ve also pressed the power button for 90 seconds before reconnecting the battery.

Sometimes it works. Sometimes it doesn’t. So, my laptop has essentially turned into a desktop. Can’t unplug it or it won’t turn on.

Bummer. Well, like I said, I got a Chromebook Flip. It’s running Google’s Chrome OS.

Screenshot 2017-04-02 at 5.26.20 PM
Chrome OS.

Here’s the spec sheet for the computer. I’ve got the 4GB RAM version. Did I tell you it runs Android apps as well?

I consider Chrome OS to be the Fisher Price of operating systems: It’s fairly simple to use. It’s Linux, so you can still do some techie things like install Arch Linux ARM on it.

IMG_20170331_125930
Arch Linux ARM dual-boot.

I’ve got Arch installed on the microSD card, so things are REALLY slow. If I drop to shell only, it runs fine. I guess I’ll have to use a DE like i3 to make it usable. Problem is, I have no idea how to use i3. I’ll read up some guides and figure it out.

For the work I do at school, it’s pretty much a perfect little device for me.

I use Google Docs all the time for documents. Google Sheets for presentations, Google Drive for storing all my homework and assignments, and I use Google Keep to type in reminders or info I need to come back for later. (I would use Evernote, but they like to charge too much to store text files on their servers.)

Again, this device is perfect. I’m already in the Google ecosystem, so it makes sense to use a Chromebook. …And the battery works in this thing. 8-12 freakin’ hours of battery is insane.

It reminds me of when I had a netbook in 2009. I have to get used to the cramped keys and small screen. I have to coddle it and treat it like a baby. It’s so slippery. With my butterfingers, I sure hope I don’t drop it.

I’m just happy to have something I can use during my class. I can sit next to the hipster girl with her $2,000 Facebook Machine Macbook and take notes on a far cheaper machine.

