I asked one simple question: Do we use our phones too much?

Jasmine Townsend, a student at STLCC, and McCluer Librarian Joseph Hosea answer the question.

For Joe, I cut out his interview short. It was initially four minutes. One thing I left out was the conversation with Facebook Live. He did get a little heated. I wanted to make sure he didn’t get in trouble with job for expressing too much.

When he mentioned Facebook Live, he was recalling an incident at his job where one student was caught filming a fight.

She did nothing to stop it and even tried to “get the right angle” to film the fight in.

He mentions it has become a huge problem in the high school with kids 13-18. They simply don’t know when to put their phones down or help people out. He says it can lead to having anxiety issues (check!), social issues (check!), etc.

It makes sense if you think about it. I know this first hand. 2007 me used to take the Internet seriously and got offended by every little text. People get offended by every little text message.

I learned to ignore what they say in text until they call or say it to my face. I don’t want to make assumptions or start a fight. It’s best to just call or talk to someone every now and then instead of texting them.

It’ll help with yours, and my own, social skills.

