I had trouble editing my interview yesterday.

It’s for a project that’s due today. Don’t worry, I’m finished with it. It’s not great, but it works.

Before I edited, I had two choices: use Kdenlive and just do what you can do, or use Lightworks.

I used both.

lightworks
Lightworks Video Editor

Lightworks is great. I like it. It’s just frustrating to use.

One drag of a clip results it in being cut or going somewhere else. My audio never syncs. I’ve tried messing with the frame rates. Doesn’t work for me.

So, I used Kdenlive to cut the footage.

kdenlive
Kdenlive Video Editor

Once the footage was cut, I went back to Lightworks in Windows.

Before you ask me why I didn’t use the Linux version of Lightworks: I couldn’t get it to start. I can’t explain why. Didn’t have time to deal with it. I rebooted into Windows to edit the rest.

Once I was back in Lightworks, I combined the footage that I liked, added transitions, and b-roll footage to cover some facial mishaps.

There was one problem: I was having audio issues in a few video tracks. My audio/video sync wasn’t out of place this time. It just wanted to glitch out big time.

What did I do?

crossfadelightworks

Cross-fades like crazy. It’s a shortcut fix. It’s the best I could do on short notice.

If I wasn’t sick last week, I’d have more time to edit. At least I’m done for now.

Lesson learned: Don’t get sick and only have a few hours to do your project.

